Global Month of Prayer for Pastors

Dear all,

Do you know that May 2011 is the Global Month of Prayer for Pastors?

During this month, Christians from all over the world would “keep watch” for their pastors and spiritual leaders. Some would fast and pray, others would deliberately form a “prayer chain” to safeguard their shepherds from the evil one.

Now, would you take time to pray for me and my family? Would you also take time to pray for other servant-leaders in New City?

[Please keep reading after the blank space.]

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

OK, there is really no such thing as the Global Month of Prayer for Pastors! I simply made it up to get your attention, with the hope that you will indeed spare some time and energy to pray for me, my family, and New City!

These days, I have been fairly burdened with New City. Although outwardly we seem to be growing in stability and regularity, we are nevertheless quite some distance from true spiritual progress.

How can we grow — truly grow — in the Gospel? How can we repent of our love for this world to respond to the gracious invitation of our Lord Jesus Christ? How can we deny ourselves, take up the cross daily, and follow Jesus? How can we do all these individually and corporately? These are the questions I have been pondering… yet I find no answers… other than keep preaching the Word of God week in and week out, in season and out of season…

At times, I feel like a “busy fireman,” working overtime to put out fires (spiritual dangers)… Other times, I feel like an “exhausted watchman” struggling (and failing) to keep my flock “awake” as their heavy eyes triumph over their spiritual watchfulness.

Is that what the work of a pastor is? In the end, I feel overwhelmed, over-matched, burdened and exhausted. Is this how a pastor should feel?

Would you pray for me? Would you pray for my family? Would you pray for this weak pastor of yours? Would you pray even when there is no such thing as the Global Month of Prayer for Pastors? Would you be to me as Aaron and Hur were to Moses? Please say so; please pray for me…

Exo 17:12 But Moses’ hands grew weary, so they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it, while Aaron and Hur held up his hands, one on one side, and the other on the other side. So his hands were steady until the going down of the sun.

Emmanuel,

– Kin.

This entry was posted in New City Sharing. Bookmark the permalink.